Completed Task 4

This task required the use of After Effects to produce a piece of kinetic typography, based on an audio clip of 20 seconds or more. I chose a clip from the television show ‘Parks and Recreation’, because using a clip from something I like and am familiar with made the task much more interesting to me. Although After Effects is a relatively easy software to use, it is very time consuming, so it took several hours to create my 26 second video. This is my final outcome:

Overall, I am relatively pleased with the outcome of my video. I think I managed to time the text with the audio very well, and I used appropriate effects on each word. However, I couldn’t figure out how to transition the background colour in smoothly, so some of the scenes change quite dramatically. Despite the large amount of time I spent working on such a short video, I did enjoy using After Effects to complete this task.

Leave a Reply

