Development and Realisation – Research

I have decided to do the brief “Who lives the longest” for my poster, and so I have spent some time researching ideas to take inspiration from. As my poster will need to display countries and the life expectancy of them, I will need to visualise both space and time. The majority of examples I could find online focused on depicting space, as shown below:

happinness-map-cropped-europe

This type of poster, with a scale by colour could be used in regards to life expectancy, with the countries with the lowest life expectancy in red working up to highest in green. However, this is a very simplistic way of representing this data.

infographic map3 edited

Mobile-Map20141

These two graphics also use quite a simple map, this time with a figure that increases or decreases in size depending on the data it’s representing. This is an idea I could possibly use, with male and female figures changing size depending on life expectancy in their country.

large

This map is slightly more abstract than the other examples, as instead of showing the actual shape of the countries, there are circles of various sizes. I think this is an interesting idea, and I could adapt it by having each circle’s size depend on the life expectancy in that country. However, this could distort the map to the extent that the countries are not recognisable, and could be very confusing.

I then spent some time looking for graphics depicting progression of time.

Screen Shot 2015-01-09 at 15.38.10

This one shows the development of different music media, and depicts its popularity over a series of years.

Screen Shot 2015-01-09 at 15.36.43

This one is displaying the extinction of several different animals, projecting the ideas into the future. I think something like this could work with my theme, as it is essentially a timeline which is well suited to life expectancy.

Leave a Reply

